Home » Electronics » Having Fun with Wine, VirtualBox, and TurboTax

Having Fun with Wine, VirtualBox, and TurboTax

Having Fun with Wine, VirtualBox, and TurboTax (via www.jeffskinnerbox.me)

Sometime ago, I committed myself to Linux and Wine, with the promise that I would sincerely abandon Microsoft Windows by notdual booting my system nor installing any virtualization software. Well, it is now tax-time and the Federial goverment wants their “fair share” of my income. Will my prefered tax software package, TurboTax, run with Linux & Wine? All the evidence I have gathered (see Wine’s ratings for one data point) on the web leads me to believe I will be very disapointed. I can’t find any success stories! Never the less, I will use this as a learning opportunity. I’m going to plung forward and try to get TurboTax working with Wine, …. and it it fails me, resort to VirtualBox, which appears to have at least some success stories…..


Leave a comment