Home » Electronics » Network Backups via Rsync and Rsnapshot

Network Backups via Rsync and Rsnapshot

Network Backups via Rsync and Rsnapshot (via www.jeffskinnerbox.me)
I got a 4 Terabyte Seagate Backup Plus hard drive as a Christmas present and I plan to put it to use as a central backup for my Linux desktop, multiple Raspberry Pi, my laptop, and anything else that my come along. My plan is to keep things simple but I wish to do regular hourly, daily, weekly, and monthly incremental backups. This will give me the ability to recover files from the past, but also to recover from a hardware failure or software install that has gone very badly.

There are many backup tools you can pick from but I wanted to stick with something basic, widely used, and simple. Rsync is one of the most widely used Linux backup solutions, and in fact, it is often used by other backup tools as a foundational component. Rsync stands for remote synchronization tool. Rsync is a UN*X command line utility, containing a special protocal and algorithm, that synchronizes files and directories from one location to another while minimizing data transfer by using fast incremental file transfers. (rsync has also been ported to Microsoft Windows, Mac, and other operating systems.) The first time, rsync sends all the data over the network to your backup machine. The benefit comes the next time you backup………


Leave a comment